Camp Flog Gnaw Dodger Stadium Games hip hop Jaden Smith Kids See Ghosts la Music Odd Future Pusha-T Review SZA Tyler the Creator

Camp Flog Gnaw 2018 By the Minute Review

Camp Flog Gnaw 2018 By the Minute Review
Tyler, The Creator performs at Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival on the grounds of Dodger Stadium on November 10, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. Images by Christopher Victorio for OC Weekly.

Review by: Josh Chesler, Eran Ryan, Niyaz Pirani and Nate Jackson

Camp Flog Gnaw 

Dodger Stadium

Saturday, Nov. 10

2:11 p.m.  Truthfully, I’m positive Dodger Stadium goes to be nice, however I miss with the ability to get to Expo Park with only one switch from the Blue Line. That is all George Lucas’s fault for constructing a museum the place the principal stage was. (Josh Chesler)

2:48 Simply noticed three white women virtually get hit by a automotive whereas sprinting throughout a few dozen lanes of visitors making an attempt to get to the path resulting in the entrance. We might’ve had our first fatality of the weekend whereas the solar was nonetheless up. (JC)

three:07 Shout out to the women having a full-blown selfie photograph shoot in the impossibly lengthy line to get wristbands. Y’all didn’t get all dressed up for nothing. (Eran Ryan)

three:51 Raphael Saadiq identified that “it never rains in Southern California,” however I’m fairly positive all of us acquired drizzled with ash simply ready to get into the pageant. (ER)

four:03  It’s taken nicely over an hour simply to get from the place the Union Station shuttle dropped us off to the precise entrance, and the field workplace someway ran out of Basic Admission wristbands. It’s not fairly a Soulquarius degree of shitshow, however I’ve come to anticipate higher from Goldenvoice. I’m guessing they’re simply not used to the new venue but. (JC)

Rex Orange County performs at Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival on the grounds of Dodger Stadium on November 10, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. Images by Christopher Victorio for OC Weekly.

four:33 Made it over to the foremost stage simply in time to see Rex Orange County, who’s simply as funky and soulful as he isn’t from Orange County. (JC)

four:46 The decorations right here look a lot extra at residence right here than they ever did at the Coliseum. It’s typically exhausting to inform what’s everlasting and what’s only for the pageant. (ER)

5:14 There are already a powerful quantity of individuals in the medical tent. It’s nonetheless early, youngsters! Tempo yourselves. (JC)

5:47 In like 10 or 20 years, we’re all going to be speaking about how The Web was the greatest band to return out of LA in the 2010s. Think about this an official prediction. (JC)

6:21 I skipped Iggy Azalea’s boyfriend’s set to go take a look at all of the merch and decorations. I remorse nothing, and I feel all of us miss Swaggy P. (JC)

6:46 Perhaps these bros photographing themselves rolling a joint in the press tent are with a weed publication, or perhaps they’re simply doing it for Instagram. Bizarre flex however OK. (ER)

7:03 The quantity of people that nonetheless can’t pronounce “Kali Uchis” amazes me. (ER)

A$AP Rocky performs at Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival on the grounds of Dodger Stadium on November 10, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. Images by Christopher Victorio for OC Weekly.

7:16 A$AP Rocky retains bringing out particular visitors so he mercifully doesn’t should rap an excessive amount of. He will not be a fantastic reside performer, however I give him credit score for utilizing hip-hop to grow to be a profitable male mannequin. (JC)

7:53 It’s unhappy how large of a police presence is required for festivals today. All of us perceive why they must be right here, however it’s unimaginable to not discover. (ER)

7:58 Majid Jordan drew the unlucky card of acting on the stage reverse of Tyler, the Creator proper earlier than he goes on. A minimum of they’ll know who their true followers are in about 15 minutes. (JC)

Jaden Smith performs at Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival on the grounds of Dodger Stadium on November 11, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. Images by Christopher Victorio for OC Weekly.

eight:42 I’m truthfully impressed by all these younger women sporting subsequent to nothing on this chilly climate. Don’t thoughts me, I’m simply busting out my coat and emergency scarf. (ER)

eight:56 One other yr of Camp Flog Gnaw, one other yr that Tyler doesn’t convey Frank Ocean out to carry out “She.” (JC)

9:02 This can be a extra toned-down model of Tyler than I’ve ever seen earlier than. He’s virtually mellow (at the very least on his requirements). (ER)

Pusha-T performs at Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival on the grounds of Dodger Stadium on November 10, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. Images by Christopher Victorio for OC Weekly.

9:44 Pusha T is perhaps downplaying the entire Drake beef now, however he’s gotten a pleasant little bump from it. This can be a a lot greater crowd than he’s had in the previous. (JC)

10:23 I all the time marvel why Camp Flog places somebody on after Tyler. SZA’s nice and all, however the entire weekend type of begins and ends with Odd Future for lots of the crowd. (ER)

Brockhampton performs at Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival on the grounds of Dodger Stadium on November 11, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. Images by Christopher Victorio for OC Weekly.

Sunday, Nov. 11

three:25 p.m. Parked round the nook from Union Station and caught the free Flog Gnaw shuttle simply in time because it was boarding. I’m sitting subsequent to a man and woman passing a vape pen forwards and backwards as they take turns pitching clouds that odor like lime Fruit Loops. We’re undoubtedly on the proper bus. (Nate Jackson)

four:20 Why so many hills to get to this music pageant? #CampWalkFar (NP)

four:31 Individuals are lined up at the merch cubicles longer and farther than I’ve ever seen at any live performance earlier than. Tyler, the Creator’s line for FLOG GNAW merch is over 500 individuals lengthy. On the different aspect of the buying space is a Foot Locker pop-up and an equally-packed Youngsters See Ghosts pop-up the place sweatshirts are going for $150-$175. I get the hype, however rattling. #CampHellNaw (NP)

The march line for Youngsters See Ghost solely at Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival on the grounds of Dodger Stadium on November 11, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. Images by Christopher Victorio for OC Weekly.

four:35 Props to the man in the white Aaliyah basketball jersey. Nonetheless miss her. (NP)

four:37 A blond woman sporting lengthy, string pigtails is sitting with a gaggle of pals as she proudly proclaims that she’s on a mission tonight to submit up for Publish Malone. “I’m going in the middle of the crowd now for Posty, I don’t care I’m tryna get hype and I’ll just meet you guys later.” Contemplating his set continues to be virtually four hours from now,  I’m fairly positive they’re not gonna meet later. (NJ)

four:43 Watching Taco in line for tacos … although we go for burritos, from the Kogi BBQ truck. The Odd Future affiliate runs by means of a reasonably commonplace DJ set together with bangers from Drake, Travis Scott and, I feel, Scarlxrd … a trap-metal dude it is best to take a look at when you’re into that kind of factor. Additionally, singer JUICE WRLD joined Taco for a couple of songs … personally, the burrito held my curiosity longer. (NP)

5:33 Flatbush Zombies parting recommendation: “Open Your Minds.” Adopted by, “I’m going to drink this fifth of Hennessy and take a shit in a Porta-Potty.” When “whack” negates “woke.” (NP)

5:35 FACT: Sporting Champion overalls and nothing beneath them will make you appear to be the Hypebeast-version of Hillbilly Jim. (NP)

Jaden Smith performs at Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival on the grounds of Dodger Stadium on November 11, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. Images by Christopher Victorio for OC Weekly.

5:57 Jaden Smith bursts onto the stage like a ball of peroxide blond power, bringing his A-game emotion to the track “B” although he’s shouting a bit an excessive amount of, to the level the place his lyrics are barely intelligible. Nevertheless, his branding recreation is on level as he jumps round sporting a “Golf” t-shirt and a collar of thick gold chains. (NJ)

6:07 “Tyler the Creator is my fucking boyfriend!” Smith yells. “He’s been my boyfriend my whole life!” The digital camera on the video screens pan to Tyler who doesn’t appear to agree. (NJ)

6:10 I’m so-so on Jaden Smith’s catalog however his power is plain and “ICON” slaps as arduous reside because it does on document. He has to ask the crowd to take it simpler so the set isn’t shut down as individuals are getting crushed up entrance. (NP)

6:28 Predicting now that the hearth marshall might shut down the set when BROCKHAMPTON performs. (NP)

6:37 Additionally, props to the man in the “Fuck Racism” t-shirt. (NP)

6:47 Lauryn’s DJ is killing it proper now–a lot in order that there’s undoubtedly some individuals on this crowd who assume its her on the turntables. However let’s not let that take away from the incontrovertible fact that DJ Reborn is entrancing this crowd with ’90s hip-hop nostalgia that proves that nevertheless far eliminated we appear to between hip-hop’s former and present Golden Eras, the two will all the time discover a strategy to meet in the center. It’s such an exquisite sight I’m not even mad that Lauryn is undoubtedly gonna be late as fuck. (NJ)

7:03 Lauryn Hill’s DJ’s warm-up set consists of Camp Lo, Biz Markie, Outkast, Queen and Bel Biv Devoe amongst others. Although a couple of others I spoke to loved Lauryn HIll’s set too, with the method she altered the supply on a few of her classics I might have most popular her DJ stored it going as an alternative. (NP)

720 After sitting via Lauryn Hill’s alternate model of “Lost Ones” I decide to stroll away, barely 7 minutes in. I do know it’s loopy. However truthfully the fixed revamping of her songs to cover the proven fact that she will’t sing them the method she used to, or a minimum of has no want to, simply doesn’t attraction to me. I really like Miseducation sufficient to permit it to take care of its place in my thoughts as one in every of the greatest albums of all time. I don’t want that to be denigrated by the imaginative and prescient of Hill in a outsized ski jacket and diamond encrusted headwear croaking out the refrain behind the again up singers.  You may win some, however you actually misplaced one. (NJ)

Billie Eilish performs at Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival on the grounds of Dodger Stadium on November 11, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. Images by Christopher Victorio for OC Weekly.

7:30 Billie Eilish was incendiary when she stopped by the Observatory earlier this yr, and at FLOG GNAW she proved she will deal with pageant levels all the similar. She was hype; she was emotional; however most of all she clearly related with a big group of people that hung onto each phrase the 16-year-old sang. It might be a shock to see her left off the Coachella lineup in 2019 with the yr she’s having. (NP)

7:41 Actually each fifth dude I rely at this pageant is sporting a murse.  WTF occurred to pockets? (NJ)

7:51 Eilish’s set wraps up with “The Office,” theme track, prompting considered one of the higher sing-alongs of the day. (NP)

eight:46 Fairly positive in case you isolate Submit Malone’s vocals he feels like Oscar the Grouch. (NJ)

eight:49 As trendy as she seems to be, I really feel dangerous for the lady who walks by in big heels. How’d you make it the entire day on this pavement? Rattling. (NP)

Brockhampton performs at Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival on the grounds of Dodger Stadium on November 11, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. Images by Christopher Victorio for OC Weekly.

9:00 BROCKHAMPTON is the neatest thing to occur all day up to now. The best boy band in the world proper now’s leaping from new cuts to previous ones and again once more … till … as predicted … the hearth marshall shuts them down as a result of it’s too harmful for everybody up entrance. FLOG GNAW would profit from further limitations in the crowd to ease the drive and BROCKHAMPTON would profit from a Important Stage slot at Coachella to make up for this. Is it too early to say their time is now? (NP)

10:25 “I can still feel the love!” Child Cudi’s refrain chorus echoes from his mic behind the levitating glass show case that might be residence to he and Kanye West for the subsequent hour or so. It’s a relaxed earlier than the storm of “Grrrat-gat-gat-gat-gat” gun chants ring via the crowd.” It’s a type of songs that, whereas nice, is tremendous bizarre to listen to in mild of yet one more mass capturing in Thousand Oaks that actually simply occurred the day earlier than. (NJ)

Youngsters See Ghost, that includes a collaboration between Kanye West and Child Cudi, carry out at Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival on the grounds of Dodger Stadium on November 11, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. Images by Christopher Victorio for OC Weekly.

10:20 Suspended in a transparent field over the stage (greatest described by somebody on-line as “a glass box of emotions”) Kanye and Child Cudi rip into their debut album as the dynamic duo of Youngsters See Ghosts. Cudi is the anchor to Kanye’s frenzy; Ye’s flubbing phrases, skipping strains and going completely wild in the field. It’s the most energetic I’ve ever seen him on stage and the crowd is throwing it proper again. I can’t consider one other time a gaggle’s debut noticed them headlining a music pageant, however in relation to Cudi and Ye, you’ll be able to rely on them to deliver the warmth. (NP)

10:34 Youngsters See Heroes: Whereas watching Youngsters See Ghosts in awe, Tyler the Creator and Jaden Smith stand proper in entrance of the crowd obstacles with large smiles as they appear as much as watch two of their OG’s bringing hearth (figuratively and actually because of the hellish pyro dispay) to shut out the pageant.  It’s a type of moments the place you see the wheels turning as these kings of millennial rap start to think about the heights they could attain in the future.(NJ)